First thoughts on Myriad Colours Phantom World

 

 Well. I guess Kyoto Animation have now made two shit shows.

So, I watched the first episode of Kyoto Animation’s new show Myriad Colours Phantom World, and well……

IT WAS REALLY FUCKING BAD.

Okay, think of every shitty light novel adaptation you’ve ever seen.

Add even more obnoxious fanservice.

Triple the production values.

And then a hefty layer of dissapointment.

I’m a big fan of Kyoto Animation’s work. One of their more popular series, the Haruhi Suzumiya franchise, sitting in the (subject to change) Holy Trinity of of my favourite shows, along with Neon Genesis Evangelion and Cowboy Bebop. They have pretty much always delivered consistently good to great work, with their only major misfire being the second season of Chuninbyo. Well. That was until this came out, and trust me when I say this is bad. Now you may say “BUT IT’S ONLY THE FIRST EPISODE. HOW CAN YOU JUDGE A SERIES BEFORE IT’S EVEN FINISHED?” and you may be right. Maybe I shouldn’t judge a series by its premiere alone. But I’m quite confident that this won’t be getting any better. And if it does people who read this and care enough can come back and get the satisfaction of telling me I was wrong and I shouldn’t be such a judgemental idiot.

If it were any other production studio handling this I would not be nearly as dissapointed as I am. I would just brush it off as yet another piece of churned out cash grab bullshit that seems to fill in the gaps of every passing season, disappearing from the viewer’s mind as quickly as it appears. But this is Kyoto Animation…. I expect better from them. 

Anyway, if there is one good thing about this show, it’s the way it looks. Kyoto Animation never fail to deliver gorgeous art.   Every thing in this show pops out at you, from the colours to the obnoxious fanservice. It all looks great. 

Barely anything to go on plot wise: mostly bad jokes, character introductions and, of course,  boobies. The only thing I could decipher  from what little the audience is told is that this appears to be basically Beyond the Boundary without any of the charm and all the seriousness sucked into a small safe where it may or may not get used for more worthwhile projects. Characters are bland at best and obnoxious at worst. I don’t remember anything about the music other than the totally okay OP, so I assume it was probably pretty mediocre.

Overall this show appears to be a steaming pile of horseshit that is only worth watching if you like pretty art and don’t want to watch hentai to see big anime breasts. I’ll keep watching it, partially to see if it miraculously gets any better, and partially to rip it apart in a review when it completes its run.

Also, Happy New Year!

Praise Haruhi.

MyAnimeList :  http://myanimelist.net/profile/itstune

3 thoughts on “First thoughts on Myriad Colours Phantom World

Leave a Reply

