Code Geass Review AKA Hypocrisy to the Max

Message from the future Tune. This review is not very well written and is sort of shit. I do not like the show in question as much as I did when I wrote this. I still recommend it but it is not as good as I make it out to be. Also I ripped some passages from the amazing Glass Reflection subconsciously because I was bad at thinking of words to express my opinions. Please go check him out if you’re not already aware of him as he is excellent. Ok I think that’s it. Enjoy this shitty review.

So, do you, dear reader, remember the other day when I reviewed an anime called Sword Art Online? You know, the one that I thoughts was, frankly, a bit shit? Well, the reason I wrote that review was because my good friend Dunn (not his real name) who has his own site which I’m now obligated to plug (dunnstheorys.wordpress.com) was going on about it, saying that it was his favourite anime, nay, favourite TV SHOW, and that it was THE GREATEST ANIME EVER (I may be slightly misquoting him) . And I gave him shit for being a fanboy and not having a critical eye and bladibladi blah. Well guess what I’m about to do?

I’M ABOUT TO REVIEW MY FAVOURITE SHOW.

LET THE HYPOCRISY BEGIN!

First, Story

Ok, as I’ve done before, I’m not going to be delving into Code Geass’s story due to a massive amount of laziness and also being really bad at describing stuff in writing. So, I’ll just lay my opinions on you without any kind of summary.

The story of Code Geass, is to put it quite frankly, a blast. In lots of regards it feels a lot like the also excellent Death Note, another show which is very dear to my heart, in that that everything that happens in the show feels like it has purpose to the continuing plot, and the repercussions of those actions can be felt ages into the show. This also means there’s no filler and if there’s one thing I hate in anime, it’s FUCKING FILLER. Naming no names, pretty much every shonen series over one hundred episodes.

Grade: A

Next, Characters

I love the characters in this show. I’m also perfectly aware that at least 50 percent of them are the biggest hams out, but I couldn’t care less. They are awesome to watch, especially the main protaganist LELOUCH VI BRITTANIA, a character so incredibly DRAMATIC that , as I have stated previously, his name must be written in ALL CAPS. The best way I can describe Lelouch is Light Yagami, but with even more maniacal laughter and dramatic arm waving, as well as being 100 percent more FABULOUS.

The supporting cast is also great, with pretty much all of the characters who have more then one line rolls getting a decent to massive amount of character development. And you know how much I love character development. *cough cough, SAO, cough cough*

Grade: A

Animation

The animation for Code Geass is absolutely stunning. The action scenes look awesome and crisp, it’s colourful and everything on screen pops. The only thing that some people may not like is the character designs. Code Geass has an art style where all the characters are very tall and lanky, which may bother some people. Personally, I liked it, but you should be aware of it. Also there’s the obligatory mention of the slightly irritating fanservice, though I will give the show props for having both female and male fanservice, something that lots of shows neglect to do.

Grade: A

Sound

I’ll start off by talking about the music here. The music for Code Geass is, like the rest of the show, bombastic and loud, which is awesome. There’s lots of big brass instruments and dramatic sounding stuff and it’s generally pretty magical. It’s not the best soundtrack I’ve ever heard, but it’s still very good. The only thing that some may dislike is the openings. I personally love all of them except the second opening of season one, though a friend say that they’re actually kinda shit, so there’s that.

Now, the voice acting. The voice acting for Code Geass is awesome, silly, and brilliant all at the same time. That is, if you’re watching in Japanese. If you’re watching it with the English dub, then it’s a blighted hell spawn that should have never existed.

So yeah, watch it with subs.

Grade:

Music: B

Voice acting:

Subs: A

Dub: D

Entertainment Value

Code Geass is entertaining in the same way that shows like Death Note are entertaining, and yes, I will keep referencing these two because they are incredibly similar. It’s a ton of fun to watch somebody think they’re the cleverest person in the whole world and then have their plans slowly crumble beneath their feet. Combine that with the awesome action scenes (something Death Note doesn’t have), INSANE characters and gripping plot, you have yourself a hugely entertaining show.

Grade: A

Final Verdict:

In the end, I adore this show. As well as all the reasons above there’s also the shows beautiful ending, which I have discussed previously ( shameless plug ). In the end, I cannot recommend Code Geass enough, though as a fan boy, I’m kind of obligated to. If it sounds awesome from what you’ve heard here or some other place, WATCH IT. If it sounds kinda shit, just give it a try, you might just be surprised.

Overall: A

Code Geass is available on DVD and Bluray from Funimation Entertainment. BUY ALL OF IT. NOW. GO.

ALL HAIL LELOUCH VI BRITANNIA.

Leave a Reply

