On the nature of hype

Hello there. Today I’d like to have a little talk to you on hype, and being jaded as a young teenager, and other stuff.

So, E3 2015 has come and gone, (I think) all the announcements have been made, everyone has declared their game of the show, and I’m feeling a bit sad. 

You see, last year’s e3 was the last year that I could still get hyped about stuff without feeling like I have PTSD. Because last year’s E3 was the one that got me hyped about a little game called Assassin’s Creed Unity.

Now, if you read one of my previous blog posts (shameless plug), you know I love AC, but after the awful disappointment that was AC Unity, I’m worried to get hyped about anything anymore. Especially Just Cause 3.

Just Cause 3 was my favourite game of the show. I mean, look at it! It looks INSANE. At first I just felt hype, hype, hype, but now, I just feel worried and cynical. Because this exactly is the exact same feeling I had about Unity. And look how that little mess turned out. 

And granted, AC is a yearly franchise, JC3 has been in development for quite some time, but apparently, (though it didn’t feel like it), so was Unity. 

Now this isn’t such a big deal in the grand scheme of things, but the thing that really depresses me is that I’m not even in high school yet. And I’m already jaded on this sort of thing. At this point hype is only slightly less scary then girls. And, as a straight male going through puberty, I’m terrified of girls.

I guess what I’m trying to say is that it really sucks that someone who hasn’t even started high school can get jaded, and maybe that the game industry might need to make some changes soon.
Or maybe Just Cause 3 will be the second coming of Jesus Christ, I don’t know.

P.S I couldn’t give a flying fuck about the new AC, so good job Ubisoft. Another former fan alienated.

Leave a Reply

